Xray – Report on Snowbirds 2007


Team XRAY has once again proved itself to be the dominant force at the World’s largest RC car race – the famous US Snowbird Nationals.

The 2007 Snowbird Nationals annual event was again a spectacular race with almost 800 entries, making it the largest and most popular RC event worldwide, factory teams from every top manufature go to compete for top honors. Team XRAY has been the most successful team in previous years, dominating and winning the main categories in the last 3 years. Moreover, with the excellent results and debut of the T2’007 at the International Indoor Championship and 2007 US Touring Championship — where Team XRAY swept up almost all main trophies — the pressure was on the team.


In qualifications, XRAY team drivers were switching leading positions most of the time in all different categories with the final TQs being set by Travis Schreven in 19T foam, and by Martin Hudy in 19T rubber. The most spectacular, exciting, competitive racing was of course seen in the Modified category where during the entire practice and early qualifications it was the T2’007 in the hands of different XRAY team drivers that were leading and setting the (fast) pace. As grip increased the lap times dropped, and it was expected that the last qualification heat would set TQ. Both Jilles Groskamp and Paul Lemieux were fastest right from the start but battles with traffic cost them valuable time; at the end it was Mike Dumas who set the TQ. With five XRAY T2’007 in the A-Main final, again making Team XRAY the most successful team at this race.


The single finals are always very demanding due to traffic, challenging drivers’ racing skills as one small mistake could cost anyone a podium finish

In both 19T foam and 19T rubber categories, XRAY team drivers Travis Schreven and Martin Hudy did not give any chances to the rest of the field, and with very calm and precise wire to wire wins … taking home not only the TQ trophy but also the overall winning trophy! In 19T foam Travis was accompanied on the podium by his teammate Paul Lemieux, who used his considerable skills to achieve a final 3rd place finish.


Again the main thrill and exciting racing was in the pro modified category where Jilles challenged his skills with the performance of the T2’007 and despite starting from the second position took the lead soon after the start and did not give chance to anybody else and WON the race in style. Just behind him was Paul Lemieux who was fighting an excellent drive and made it at the end to the podium on the third position, securing another second podium finish in the modified class for the XRAY T2’007.



The 2007 Snowbird Nationals was again fully packed with a lot of exciting racing, adrenaline, and thrills, making it (again) one of the biggest and most fascinating races on the planet. Team XRAY is very proud to be the only team in RC history to be able to dominate the race in the last four years — winning in 2004 – 2005 – 2006 – 2007 — making a tremendous mark in the event’s history.


Final 2007 Snowbird Nationals results:
Touring Pro Mod

1. Jilles Groskamp – XRAY T2’007
2. Chris Tosolini
3. Paul Lemieux – XRAY T2’007
4. Mike Dumas
5. Teemu Leino – XRAY T2’007
6. Simo Ahoniemi
7. Bobby Flack – XRAY T2’007
8. Barry Baker – XRAY T2’007
9. Joel Myrberg
10. Juho Levanen
Touring 19T Foam

1. + TQ – Travis Schreven – XRAY T2’007
2. Juho Levanen
3. Paul Lemieux – XRAY T2’007
4. Atsushi Hara
5. Jilles Groskamp – XRAY T2’007
6. Chris Tosolini
7. Billy Easton
8. Mike Dumas
9. Bobby Flack – XRAY T2’007
10. Jeff Cuffs
Touring 19T Rubber

1. + TQ – Martin Hudy – XRAY T2’007
2. Brandon Melton
3. Jason Ertrachter
4. Mike Haynes
5. Dave Bowser – XRAY T2’007
6. Sean Carmen – XRAY T2’007
7. David Croy
8. Walter Cosico – XRAY T2’007
9. Tony Fiorella
10. Shad Galante

Source : Xray

This entry was posted in RCeasy News, XRAY. Bookmark the permalink.