BIWS 07’08 Final Round


The Final round of the BIWS 07’08 took place this weekend at Don Valley Stadium in Sheffield. Racers were greeted with a fast and flowing track laid out by the guys from Sheffield and District MCC. The layout for the day consisted of three rounds of qualifying and two finals with both finals counting towards the final position.

Xray/Nosram driver Ben Cosgrove made the trip from the Neo’08 event, as a perfect score and 1st overall was on the cars if he could take the win or keep fellow Xray driver Elliott Harper behind him! The Rest of the Mirage team were out in force in all classes, each hoping to take home one of the great looking overall trophies.

Stock Report by Jordan Howe

Yesterday was my last indoor competition race and my last competition in stock, so I was hoping to end in high spirits for the forthcoming outdoor season in pro-stock.

The 1st qualifying round went all well and was in 5th place, second qualify I was 7th overall after someone put me over the barrier. The last qualifier went well and I ended up 6th on the grid; the top 6 were all on 24 laps.

The 1st final I got up to 3rd after a great start off the grid but a mistake cost me 3 places so I ended up 6th. The second final I made a setup change to my car which made the car a lot easier to drive and by the second lap I was leading. I lead for a couple of laps and kept second place behind but I had to dodge a backmarker which lead to 2nd place man squeezing through to grab 1st place. In the end I finished 2nd whilst under pressure from 3rd place for the last few laps and overall I finished 4th.

Overall I finished 7th overall, which was very pleasing as this was the first whole competition series I had ever completed in touring cars.


Stock final Result:

1. Dave Allen
2. Matthew Tuplin
3. Thomas Daley – Xray

Stock Overall Standings:

1. Matthew Tuplin
2. Darius Walker – Xray
3. Thomas Daley – Xray
4. Adam Howe – Xray
5. Nigel Shaw – Xray
6. Jeremy Clarke
7. Jordon Howe – HB
8. Paul Boult
9. Richard Binnersley
10. John Castle


In-between the Qualifying and Finals was the Raffle, prizes kindly donated by Newbold Models and Mirage Racing, that always goes down well and of coarse the Concourse event with a new Moorespeed bodyshell and paint up for grabs. The Winning shell was a HB Moorespeed Mazda 6, painted by TS Designs and belonged to a very happy John “Pops” Yarnall.


Coming into the final round of 19t everyone was chasing down Leon Morrell for the title. Commanding a Win and two seconds from previous rounds it was his to lose. Xray team driver Luke Humphreys had a great qualifying session to secure TQ for the finals and a chance of grabbing 3rd overall if he could maintain the pace.

Luke won the first Final but couldn’t repeat the achievement as Liam Brookes took the second final and the overall win by just a few seconds! Liam’s Win also gave him the 19T Title as Leon struggled, only making 5th.


19T Final Result

1. Liam Brookes
2. Luke Humphrey
3. Chris Clark

19t Overall Standings

1. Liam Brookes
2. Leon Morrell
3. Chris Clark
4. Luke Humphrey – Xray
5. Chris Bosomworth – Xray
6. Matthew Cook
7. Scott Dowsey
8. Chris Lovely – Xray
9. Michael Lee – Xray
10. Paul Clayton – HB


Mod class has been dominated all series by the Mirage team and any from the top four or five could grab the title from Ben Cosgrove if he slipped up. Qualifying round one was low on grip as the track warmed up and the Sheffield Sun finally came out. Ben taking the first all important round by only .2 of a second from Elliott Harper. Round 2 again saw Ben take the Win with Jonathan Aird in second the two of them having pulled out consistent gap from the rest of the field. Round three was much scrappier with everyone desperate to secure the TQ position Ben managed to fight his way back to second with Elliott just in front but not quite managing to match Ben’s second round time.

With Ben on pole he had a great chance to complete the perfect score he wanted, and lead from the front in final 1. Second went to Jonathan Aird who had a great qualifying session. With Elliott in third.


The second Final saw a pile up on the first two corners mix up the pack a bit, with Ben and Elliott having to drive there way out of the back of the pack. With Jonathan up front and looking comfortable for the Win, Ben needed third at least to secure the overall Win. Alistair Graham stood in the way of both Elliott and Ben as they recovered. Alistair made it very difficult for either to pass making his car as wide as possible for as long as he could. Elliott took a chance trying to get passed that didn’t pay off, leaving Ben to try and get passed Alistair alone. A close battle ensued when the pressure finally told and Alistair made a mistake to let Ben through and take the third he needed for the Overall Win. Phil Chambers brought his Xray T2’008 home in second with Jonathan cruising to victory making it a Xray T2’008 and Nosram top four! And a Mirage Top Seven!


Mod Final Result:

1. Ben Cosgrove – Xray/Nosram
2. Jonathan Aird – Xray/Nosram
3. Elliott Harper – Xray/Nosram
4. Phil Chambers – Xray/Nosram


Mod Overall Standings:

1. Ben Cosgrove – Xray/Nosram
2. Elliott Harper – Xray/Nosram
3. Phil Chambers – Xray/Nosram
4. Jonathan Aird – Xray/Nosram
5. Stuart Noble – HB/Orion
6. Alistair Graham – Xray/Orion
7. Guy Thornton – Xray/Nosram
8. Sam Smith
9. Andy Murry
10. Andrew Twigger


Source : Mirage Racing

This entry was posted in Racing News and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.