BRCA Off-Road National Round 1 at Kidderminster

As the 2008 BRCA 1:10 Off-Road National Championship kicked off at the multi-surface Kidderminster track, it was Associated drivers Neil Cragg and Lee Martin who shared the wins over the course of the weekend.  Tom Yardy (Associated/Nosram) kicked off his season strongly with wins in rounds one and two before last year’s championship runner-up hit back with wins in rounds three and four to take pole by virtue of a faster time.

The rain came down for the finals though and this made for some changes to tyres and set-up, and it was Neil who powered to a win in the first leg before Tom’s team-mate Phil Sleigh won leg two. Neil was back on it for the final leg and took the win giving him overall victory from Paul Bradby and Phil.

2wd Top 3:

Neil Cragg
Paul Bradby
Phil Sleigh

Sunday dawned wet and although the rain would stop, the Astroturf sections remained damp throughout. Unlike 2WD, one driver dominated 4WD winning everytime he hit the track! Lee Martin (Associated/Novak/JConcepts) took TQ in every round with Tom Yardy (twice), Simon Moss and Paul Bradby finishing second over the course of qualifying.

Come the finals, it appeared that the winner was going to come from Lee, Tom (Hot Bodies/Nosram) or Simon (Schumacher/Speed Passion) as these three were able to pull away at the front at every start. Lee withstood the immense pressure and never put a wheel wrong over the three legs leaving Simon and Tom to pick up the pieces and this was how it finished overall with Lee looking strong to retain his 4WD title that he won in 2007.

4wd Top 3:

Lee Martin
Simon Moss
Tom Yardy

Source : jconcepts

This entry was posted in Racing News and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.